35 party-list nominees proclaimed

May 31, 2010

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) proclaimed on Monday 35 nominees from party-list groups, filling in more than half of the 57 seats available to them in the House of Representatives.

The new sectoral representatives belong to 28 organizations, 16 of which have served in Congress; 12 are first-time winners.

Among the groups that led the tally of the Comelec, 11 groups have not yet been proclaimed due to pending cases or appeals on their disqualification.

Based on the 90% of the tallied votes, a party-list group needs at least 549,568 votes to win a seat.

Seven groups will get 2 seats each. They are:

1. Coalition of Association of Senior Citizens in the Philippines, Inc. (Senior Citizens), elderly

· Incumbent Senior Citizens Rep. Godofredo Arquiza

· David Kho-member of the board of mining exploration company Geograce Resources Philippines

2. Akbayan Citizens Action Party (Akbayan), multi-sectoral

· University professor and incumbent Akbayan Rep. Walden Bello

· Arlene Bag-ao-Executive trustee of the Mindanao-based law group BALAOD

3. Gabriela Women’s Party (Gabriela) , women rights

· Incumbent Gabriela Rep. Luzviminda Ilagan

· Former Gabriela secretary-general Emerenciana de Jesus

4. Cooperative NATTCO Network Party (COOP-NATTCO), cooperatives

· Former National Confederation of Cooperatives chair and incumbent COOP-NATTCO Rep. Jose Ping-ay

· Incumbent COOP-NATTCO Rep, Cresente Paez

5. Bayan Muna, political party

· Incumbent Bayan Muna Rep.Teodoro Casiño

· Incumbent Bayan Muna Rep. Neri Colmenares

6. Abono, agri-based sector

· Incumbent Abono Rep. Robert Raymund Estrella

· Incumbent Abono Rep. Francisco Emmanuel Ortega III

7. Anwaray, regional political party

· Incumbent AnWaray Rep. Florencio Noel

· Incumbent AnWaray Rep. Neil Benedict Montejo.

The party-list groups that are entitled to 1 seat each are:

1. Agricultural Sector Alliance of the Philippines (AGAP), agri-based

· Acting chair of Audacious Services and incumbent AGAP Rep. Nicanor Briones

2. Alliance for Baranggay Concerns (ABC), baranggay development

· Leyte baranggay chairman Arnulfo Molero

3. Anakpawis (AP), multi-sectoral

· Incumbent AP Rep. Rafael V. Mariano

4. Kabataan Partylist (Kabataan), youth

· Incumbent Kabataan Rep. Raymond V. Palatino

5. Abante Mindanao (ABAMIN), regional group

· Former Ifugao governor and congressman Romulo B. Lumauig

6. Act Teachers, educators

· Act Teacher national chair Antonio Tinio

7. You Against Corruption and Poverty (YACAP), anti-corruption and anti-poverty

· Businesswoman and YACAP founding president Carol Jayne Lopez

8. Kasangga Sa Kaunlaran, Inc. (Ang Kasangga), microentrepreneurs

· Teodorico Haresco

9. Bagong Henerasyon (BH), multi-sectoral group

· Quezon City 1st District Councilor Bernadette Herrera-Dy

10. Ang Galing Pinoy (AG), multi-sectoral group

· Pampanga Rep. Juan Miguel Arroyo, son of President Gloria Arroyo

11. Agbiag! Timpuyog Ilocano (Agbiag), regional political party

· Former Cagayan 1st district Rep. Patricio Antonio

12. Puwersa ng Bayaning Atleta (PBA), athletes

· Mark Aeron H. Sambar

13. Arts, Business, and Science Professionals (ABS), professionals

· Incumbent Catalina G. Leonen-Pizarro

14. Trade Union Congress of the Philippines (TUCP), labor

· Raymond Democrito Mendoza, former Philippine National Oil Company board member and son of TUCP president Democrito Mendoza

15. Alyansa ng mga Grupong Haligi ng Agham at Teknolohiya para Mamamayan (Agham), science and technology

· Radio reporter Angelo B. Palmones

16. Democratic Independent Workers’ Association, Inc. (DIWA), labor

· Emmeline D. Aglipay, former student council president at De La Salle University

17 . Kapatiran ng mga Nakakulong na Walang Sala (Kakusa), penal system

· Incumbent Rep. Ranulfo Canonigo

18. Kalinga Advocacy for Social Empowerment and Nation Building Through Easing Poverty, Inc. (Kalinga), anti-poverty

· Abigail Faye Ferriol-daughter of Pentecostal Missionary Church of Christ bishop Arturo Ferriol

19. Alagad party-list (Alagad), urban poor

· Incumbent Rep. Rodante D. Marcoleta

20. Ang Pamilya (1-Pamilya), multi-sectoral group

· Department of Agrarian Reform Senior Agrarian Reform Officer Reena Concepcion Obillo

21. Alliance of Volunteer Educators (AVE), educators

· Eulogio R. Magsaysay

The party-list groups that have garnered enough votes for a seat each, but which have yet to be proclaimed pending disqualification cases are:

AkoBicol Political Party
Buhay Hayaan Yumabong
1-Consumers Alliance for Rural Energy

Citizens Battle Against Corruption
LPG Marketers Association, Inc.
Ang Asosasyon San Mangunguma Nga Bisaya-Owa Mangunguma, Inc.

Association of Philippine Electric Cooperatives
Alliance for Nationalism and Democracy
1-United Transport Koalisyon

Advocacy for Teacher Through Action
Cooperation, and Harmony Towards Educational Reforms
Butil Farmers Party.

Of the groups being questioned, 7 have held seats in the 14th Congress. They are: Buhay, Cibac, APEC, ANAD, 1-UTAK, Butil, and A- Teacher.

Most of the groups whose proclamation was postponed had been accused of having been created by the Arroyo administration to ensure her having allies in the House and secure the speakership.

Poll watchdog Kontra Daya had released a list of administration-backed groups early this year, most of them either have alleged ties with the president or had been included in a memorandum circular allegedly issued by Malacañang that hopes to fund the campaign of the Arroyo-linked party-list groups.

Among the proclaimed groups, 9 are in Kontra Daya’s list: Coop-Nattco; Abono; YACAP; Agbiag; Kakusa; AVE; TUCP; Ang Kasangga

Among the most controversial is Ang Galing Pinoy, which has the President Arroyo’s son Juan Miguel as top nominee. Juan Miguel, a former congressman of Pampanga, gave way to his mother in the district race this year.

Frontrunner AKB faces 2 cases alleging that it failed to observe the party-list guideline that only allows the marginalized and underrepresented sectors to participate.

AKB led the rest of the 187 groups by about 1.4 million votes or more than 5% of the partial tally of the the National Board of Canvassers. If proclaimed, AKB may send 3 representatives in the House.

Militant group Bayan Bicol accused the AKB of being funded by the companies of its chairman and business mogul Elizaldy Co. Although it identifies Co as one of its supporters, AKB president Rodel Batocabe said in an official statement, that AKB is not a sectoral party, but a regional party representing Bicolanos.

Another appeal questions Buhay party-list accreditation since its nominees are related to the El Shaddai Charismatic Catholic Movement. It has in its line of nominees, El Shaddai leader’s son Mariano Michael who would likely obtain a seat in the House. Buhay had been active in the party-list election since 2001.




Got something to say?

View My Stats